A Prayer of Thanksgiving for Love   1 comment

Snapshot_20130703

Above:  Marie and Randolph the Teddy Bears, July 3, 2013

Image Taken Via My Computer Camera

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

If I speak in the tongues of mortals and of angels, but do not have love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.  And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have faith, so as to remove mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing.  If I give away all my possessions, and if I hand over my body so that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient; love is kind; love is not boastful or arrogant or rude.  It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful. it does not rejoice in wrongdoing, but rejoices in the truth.  It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Love never ends.  But as for prophecies, they will come to an end; as for tongues, they will cease; as for knowledge, it will come to an end.  For we know only in part, and we prophesy only in part; but when the complete comes, the partial will come to an end.  When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child; when I became an adult, I put an end to childish ways.  For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then we will see face to face.  Now I know only in part; then I will know fully, even as I have been fully known.  And now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; and the greatest of these is love.

–1 Corinthians 13:1-13, The New Revised Standard Version

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Love, O God,

was a state into which I doubted once that I might fall.

When it did begin to occur,

I needed over a year to understand what was happening to me.

This love has enabled me to aid my beloved

(with admittedly limited success sometimes) under difficult circumstances,

but it did empower me to that much

–which mattered at the time–

at least.

Love, by which I delight in her,

requires much of me and has hurt.

Yet it has persisted.

And it has made me a better man,

a rejuvenated person,

and a grateful individual.

Thank you.  Amen.

KENNETH RANDOLPH TAYLOR

AUGUST 4, 2013 COMMON ERA

PROPER 13–THE ELEVENTH SUNDAY AFTER PENTECOST, YEAR C

THE FEAST OF J. ROBERT HARRIS, SOUTHERN BAPTIST WITNESS FOR CIVIL RIGHTS

THE FEAST OF SAINT JOHN BAPTIST VIANNEY, ROMAN CATHOLIC PRIEST

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Adapted from this post:

http://gatheredprayers.wordpress.com/2013/08/04/a-prayer-of-thanksgiving-for-love/

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Posted August 6, 2013 by neatnik2009 in 1 Corinthians 13, Prayers on Various Topics

Tagged with

One response to “A Prayer of Thanksgiving for Love

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: A Prayer of Thanksgiving for Love | GATHERED PRAYERS

Leave a Reply

